Structure of CEWARN

In order to capture the diversity and linkages of the regional actors in conflict, CEWARN operates at three levels: local, national and regional. While the latter provides the necessary foundation for a regional conflict early warning mechanism, cooperation is essential with other mechanism at lower levels for the entire systems to function effectively. As such the following is the structure and organization of the CEWARN Mechanism:


1. Committee of Permanent Secretaries (CPS)

Provided for in Art9 (2) and 10 of the Protocol, it is one of the regional structures of the early warning unit made up o PS of Ministries of Foreign Affairs, the Executive Secretary and Director of Political Affairs and CEWARN as ex-officio members.

Meeting at least twice a year, its responsibilities include:-

  • exchanging information on conflict and early warning
  • report and make recommendations to the IGAD Council on

2. Technical Committee on Early Warning (TCEW)

Is a coordinating arm of the mechanism, established under articles 9 (6) of the Protocol. It is made up of heads of National Conflict early Warning and Response Units (CEWERUs), and representatives from civil society and research institutions and CEWARN. Reporting to the CPS their functions are contained in art. 3 of the Protocol and include:-

  • promote cooperation between CEWERUs , civil society and CEWARN unit
  • review the protocol periodically and recommend amendments where necessary
  • review consultative reports of the various mechanisms of CEWARN


Is the administrative arm of the Mechanism, whose functions cover both early warning and response.

Contained in Art 5-7 of the Protocol, its functions include:-

  • establishing networks of cooperation among member states
  • create and manage database on information on early warning and response
  • develop close cooperation between CEWERUs, providing technical assistance and other support as required


You are here: Home About Us Structure of CEWARN